My New Friend, Earl

I found a baby bird. I named him Earl. His parents probably already have a name for him, but I suppose it can be a nickname. I was out on the porch taking pictures of fabric for my Mom’s shop when I looked down and saw a baby bird on the planter just watching me. He didn’t even try to run away. He was old enough to perch but was unable to fly as he had no tail feathers yet. I ran inside to grab a bowl and lined it with some washcloths. I came back out and picked him up. Earl is apparently very brave as he did not flinch or try to get out of my hand. I put him in the bowl and he promptly hopped out. Apparently Earl enjoys adventures. So I picked him up and walked around a bit looking for nests. I heard some distressed chirping at the edge of the yard and figured it may be Earl’s parents telling him to get his butt back in the nest. I decided to leave Earl close to them and head back to the porch, so they could get him home without being scared by me. I went back to the porch and continued taking pictures. All of a sudden I looked down and saw Earl. He was looking up at me. Apparently Earl did not fall out of his nest. He jumped out of his nest, looking for an adventure. In an effort to eliminate any distraction, I went back inside so Earl could head back to Mom and Dad. I went over to the other side of the house and continued to take pictures. A few minutes later, I looked over to a bush and saw Earl and his Mom. They were talking. But it was in birdspeak, so I am not sure what they said. In any case, Mom hopped halfway across the driveway (I assumed she was going towards the nest.) and turned around and called to Earl. Earl exited the bush, and came about a quarter of the way across the driveway. And darted into the garage where I was located. After all of this Earl love, I decided I really should leave and went inside completely. I think you’re cute, Earl, but I would imagine your parents can take better care of you. A few hours later, I checked outside and there was no sign of Earl. He must have finally decided to go home and save the adventures for another day.

More Japan adventures to come….


3 Comments

  1. June 9, 2010 at 5:12 am

    SQUEAL!!!! he does look like an Earl or a Carl….hope he got home safe! that adventuring little bugger.

  2. Edge said,

    June 9, 2010 at 3:52 pm

    Okay. That is Adorable. Capital letter intended. 🙂

  3. Kimmy said,

    June 14, 2010 at 10:04 am

    awwwww Earl is so CUTE!!!! lucky!!!


Leave a Reply

