I’m back!

I have returned! I was not exactly stoked to leave-in fact, it was extremely hard to walk out of Luke’s hug at the airport-but we have only 5 weeks left. Just in case, someone has no clue what I am talking about…my guy and I got married December 28. He deployed one week later. Probably the biggest challenge I’ve ever walked through so far. We have done one other deployment before, but it wasn’t as hard, because we were just dating at the time. In any case, we had the opportunity to visit him in Okinawa, Japan for about 13 days. <3!!!!!!!! I mean ❤ L, not necessarily Japan. Yes, Japan was fabulous, but spending time with Luke was more fabulous. For the next few days, I will post some pictures of our many adventures.

Japan has the coolest vending machines. Each of them seriously has around 30 different drinks to choose from. The most interesting one we tried was called Pocari Sweat. It was supposed to replenish your body with all the electrolytes you had sweated off after exercise. Unfortunately, it actually did taste like salt. Thus, it tasted like sweat. Ew…

No, Luke is not eating icky Japanese food. He is eating icky instant camping/backpacking food. He tried to get neopolitan ice cream. It was odd. It tasted like cardboard. And it wasn’t cold like ice cream usually is….

This is Bob. Bob the hermit crab. There were TONS of hermies on the beaches. And since Okinawa is a small island, there was a lot of beach. Thus a lot of hermie. The beach that I went to just about every day was a five minute walk from the building we stayed in. It was on base and close to where the traks that L drives leave from.

I love the ocean. I was born near it, and think I was made to stay close to it. I am also in love with CO though…As you can see from the picture, it is pretty cloudy and green. It is green, because it is cloudy and rainy most days. We had one day of total sunshine all day. Other than that, there were probably 2 afternoons where it wasn’t cloudy.

href=”https://twinkiesaregross.files.wordpress.com/2010/06/danika-0241.jpg”&gt;

3 Comments

  1. erin said,

    June 5, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    ahhh, those beach pictures are so lovely.

  2. Sarah said,

    June 5, 2010 at 10:26 pm

    I made an entire photo album of JUST the vending machines in Japan when I lived there. I have so many different photos. 🙂


Leave a Reply

