Rosetta Stone

I have decided to continue….learning Espanol. I did a little bit in high-school, but I can prove the “Dont’ use it and lose it” phenomenon. I have several options:
1. Use the old textbook and CD’s I was using in high-school. I think my Mom still has them actually.
2. Use in “in the car CD’s” I obtained from my Guatemalan great-grandma.
3. Try to get Rosetta Stone for free (I heard some rumor about military dependents/military have access to free Rosetta Stone).
4. Experiment with a combination of all three ideas.

Pro’s and Con’s.
1. I don’t remember being highly enthused with the textbook. And the lady that spoke on the CD’s could not be taken seriously, because her voice was so ridiculous. Thought: I was not enthused, because I was in high-school. And it is free. I would probably just have to dig through the old home-school textbook pile.

2. I totally zone these out. I listen for a minute and then I drive and wish I was listening to 98.9 dance music. Or 104.5 country. Or 94.3 rock. Or my Elvis CD. Or the music on my iPod. Still it could help to hear and learn. Just have to actually hear it I guess.

3. I have heard GREAT things about Rosetta Stone. I just can’t figure out how to get it for free. And I can’t buy it. It is utterly too expensive.

4. Use what you’ve got is good. But it may be overwhelming to try it all.

Any suggestions?

In other news, two weeks left at my first official adult job.

3 Comments

  1. Gretchen said,

    May 6, 2010 at 8:00 pm

    5. Move to Mexico, take a job and learn as you go.

    We have the R- Stone if you want it. But I would move to Mexico if I were you.

  2. Pete D said,

    May 7, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    I think Rosetta Stone is the way to go, especially for the beginner. It’s easy to use and actually enjoyable to work with. I think that’s important because I know I can get enthusiastic about something to start but after a few weeks it gets harder and harder to stick with it. Rosetta’s pretty good about that. There’s a lot of positive feedback which helps.
    As to getting it for free, I know you can request a CD sample from the manufacturer but I don’t think it does a whole lot. I got it through an online school for $48 which is the next best thing to free (it’s at the http://www.cbcwebcollege.com website). That provides access to all the languages (including European Spanish which is fun to check out) and all the levels. It’s available online 24/7 so I can work on it anywhere I can get to the Web. (again with that practice thing).
    I definitely recommend using the headset. It can be done without it but the program helps adjust with pronunciation and talking to the computer really helps with remembering what I’ve learned later on.
    I also suggest listening to Spanish radio and tv. They go a little fast but it is a good way to help the language sink in.
    Buena suerte!

    • May 7, 2010 at 6:24 pm

      Oooh, spanish tv and radio. I will have to try that as well. Thank you for the suggestions! 🙂


Leave a Reply

