Quote and #39

“I never saw a wild thing sorry for itself. A small bird will drop frozen dead from a bough without ever having felt sorry for itself”. D.H. Lawrence (Discovery courtesy of “G.I. Jane”)
Note to self: Self pity is pitiful. Remember to remember. Note to self over.

#39. On a roll with my bucket list! I made my own fabric grocery bags. Luckily, my Mom has a fabric store in her basement, so I was able to pillage what I wanted and make them this weekend. After only 45 minutes or an hour, I had three finished. I figure three grocery bags is enough for 2 people, right? This is a wild guess as I have never grocery shopped for two people. In fact, I really don’t grocery shop for myself on a weekly basis. The few times I have, I buy a loaf of bread, a jar of peanut butter, a jar of jelly, a few apples, a box of instant oatmeal packages, and I am fed for a week. Likely, that is acceptable for short term bachelorette-ness; however, I have a suspicion that L and I will need to learn how to grocery shop like normal people soon.

I have also put thought into where my bags can be taken and decided that the PX on base may not be the place for my “earthy resolutions”. Why this is not acceptable and wearing a “Wage Love, Not War” t-shirt on base is, I have no clue. However, if we grocery shop off base (I think this is the way to go, because I like normal grocery stores where I don’t get I.D.ed as I walk in.) I will use my “earthy bags”.

4 Comments

  1. dollyasylum said,

    May 3, 2010 at 2:08 am

    Hello! Thanks for your comment on my bloggykins just now! I thought i would return the favour and come check out your own piece of blogdom. I like your earthy bags! I have a crapload of fabric, so i should follow suit and do my bit for eco friendly shopping.
    Have a luvverly day!

  2. Denise said,

    May 3, 2010 at 3:49 am

    I love your bags. Were they easy to make? You know how not talented I am so if I can make them anyone in the whole entire world can make them. I wouldn’t mind having my own grocery bags but I’ll need to make around 20 of them….really. You’ve seen my grocery shopping trips.

  3. Edge said,

    May 3, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Ooh, yay real grocery shopping! I have tried to make myself shop more like a normal person instead of a college student, with medium levels of success…it’s much easier to shop for more than one, though 🙂


Leave a Reply

